Building Holes: New Constructs for Something Different

Quilts sometimes get designed in a twisty weird way. I think it’s fun to share that with you sometimes.

I’ve been working on a mockingbird quilt for a while. I found an image that intrigued me and drew it up. And I embroidered that.

All that said, where do you put a mocking bird? I had to look it up. This particular mocking bird was from the desert part of the Galapagos Islands. I didn’t know. And from the desert part.

You may have noticed I don’t do desert. Not personally. Just too hot and dry. And not often in my art. But here’s this mockingbird and she needs a desert.

After a fair amount of reading, I found mockingbirds sitting among cactus. But what tickeled me sideways, is that the cactus had owls living in them. The owls were easy.

So how do you make a hole for an owl in a cactus?

We’re pretty far off my map and this point. I don’t do cactus. I don’t do desert. And I need to do holes in desert cactus.

The cactus don’t just have holes in them. They have a scarred area around the hole where the owls dug their holes. The also need a dark background behind that and a place to slip in the owl heads.

Fjrst, I cut cactus bits. I cut a hole in the side of the cactus, and cut an irregular rim around it that I extended past the edge, clipped, and glued around the hole.

Then I put a dark hand dyed lining. in the hole.

The owl head slides right in

What happens next? A lot of stitching on cactus, and some thinking about what you do with a background this bright.

2 thoughts on “Building Holes: New Constructs for Something Different

  1. I love the colors of the SW. I had heard that owls lived in some cactus but have never seen them in person. I have a small pattern that is a tree and there is a hole in the tree and a baby owl is sticking his head out. Mother owl in up higher in the tree and a couple of sibling owls are on a lower branch. I think I just used a blueish background – not at all like your work. Not sure how to tone it down a bit though. Good luck – You will probably get hundreds of suggestions and maybe a few combined will work. Mary Carter

    Like

Leave a comment